Physics Formulas

Newton's Laws of Motion

Newton's Laws or Newton's Laws of Motions were invented by the famous English mathematician, physicist, and astronomer Sir Isaac Newton. Among many other great discoveries, Sir Isaac Newton formulated three laws of motion known as Newton's three laws of motion which are still widely used today. The Newton's Laws of Motion revolutionized science of the 17th Century.

Newton's Laws of Motion

About Sir Isaac Newton, the man who invented Newton's Laws of Motion

Isaac Newton was born on December 25, 1642 in Woolsthorpe, Lincolnshire, England, He attended Trinity College, Cambridge University where the story of the apple falling onto his head giving him the idea for his Newton's Laws of Motion supposedly took place.

Three Newton's Laws of Motion

The Newton's 3 laws of motion are: the law of inertia, the law of acceleration and the law of reciprocal actions.

  • The first Newton's law of motion or the law of inertia states that an object is at rest unless acted on by a force or an object moving at a constant speed will continue to move at that speed unless acted on by a force.
  • The 2nd law of motion introduces the formula Force equals mass times acceleration.
  • The third law follows the law of conservation of momentum used widely in mathematics and states that each action has an equal and opposite reaction.

Newton's First Law of Motion

Newton's Second Law of Motion

Newton's Third Law of Motion